Warning: include_once(/home/esport05/public_html/wp-content/plugins/wp-hummingbird/helpers/wp-hummingbird-helpers-core.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/esport05/public_html/wp-content/advanced-cache.php on line 22

Warning: include_once(): Failed opening '/home/esport05/public_html/wp-content/plugins/wp-hummingbird/helpers/wp-hummingbird-helpers-core.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/local/php71/pear') in /home/esport05/public_html/wp-content/advanced-cache.php on line 22

Warning: include_once(/home/esport05/public_html/wp-content/plugins/wp-hummingbird/core/modules/class-module-page-caching.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/esport05/public_html/wp-content/advanced-cache.php on line 24

Warning: include_once(): Failed opening '/home/esport05/public_html/wp-content/plugins/wp-hummingbird/core/modules/class-module-page-caching.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/local/php71/pear') in /home/esport05/public_html/wp-content/advanced-cache.php on line 24
A Primer On The Zotac Cup Masters Premier Tournament - Esportsranks
A Primer On The Zotac Cup Masters Premier Tournament

For a supposedly “Premier” tournament, the Zotac Cup Masters hasn’t been getting much attention.

Perhaps most are still hungover from the recently concluded Manila Masters 2017, where EG took home the title, beating out Newbee, 3-1.

Well, whatever the case is, we’re here to give you the down low on what the Zotac Cup Masters is and which teams are in it.

What Is The Zotac Cup Masters?

To quote directly from the event’s promotional website,

“The ZOTAC CUP MASTERS is a grand stage where only the best pro teams push their limits in skill to rise to the top all while the world watches. Open to any to take the challenge and show to all that they have what it takes to be one of the best, teams battle to rise to the top through a series of ZOTAC CUP qualifiers building up to a ZOTAC CUP MASTERS live event where the best meet best.”

The event is the first ever Dota tournament to be held at Computer Taipei and serves as part of the celebration of the 10th year of the ZOTAC CUP.

The tournament features a $100,000 USD prize pool.

Participating Teams

The tournament features an eight-team lineup. However, unlike most premier tournaments, only two teams were directly invited to participate in the event. Meanwhile, the remaining six had to go through qualifying tournaments held in their respective regions to participate.

The eight participating teams in the tournament are:

  • Team NP (Direct Invite)
  • Newbee (Direct Invite)
  • Danish Bears (European Qualifier)
  • Team Singularity (European Qualifier)
  • Digital Chaos (America Qualifier – Replacement for Team Freedom)
  • Fnatic (SEA Qualifier)
  • WarriorsGaming.Unity (SEA Qualifier)
  • iG.Vitality (China Qualifier – Replacement for Invictus Gaming)

Quick Recap

The main event kicked off on May 30 (Tuesday), where the teams were split into teams of four. The teams were then matched up in a Bo1 series, after which the losers played in a Bo3.

Unsurprisingly, Team NP and Newbee, who each played 3rd and 2nd respectively in the Manila Masters 2017, took the top seeds of their respective groups. Meanwhile, IG Vitality and Digital Chaos took the 2nd and 3rd seeds for Group A. While in Group B, Fnatic and Danish Bears took the 2nd and 3rd seeds.

Team Singularity and WG.Unity were both eliminated during the first day of the tournament.


The Zotac Cup Masters will continue on May 31, where the teams will play in a single-elimination bracket format.

All games will be played in best-of-three series, while the Grand Finals will be a best-of-five.

Without any other top-tier team in the tournament, we could be looking at a Team NP and Newbee grand finals.

You can watch the event via Twitch, with on-site English broadcasting courtesy of Moonduck studios.