Valve Announces the Dota Pro Circuit

After weeks of staying mum amidst fan concerns regarding the lack of announcements, Valve has finally decided to break the silence, rolling out all the details fans and teams will ever need for the upcoming season, which they have now officially named as the Dota Pro Circuit.

Welcome to the Dota Pro Circuit

The announcement of the Dota Pro Circuit confirms the list of Minors and Majors for the season initially revealed by Team Secret‘s manager, Matthew ‘Cyborgmatt’ Bailey. However, it comes with a few notable changes.

For one, we will be getting 5 more Minors for a total of 16 Minors and 11 Majors.

Dota Pro Circuit

Image via Wykrhm Reddy

Speaking of changes, Valve didn’t exactly fully deliver on their initial promise. Instead of tournaments closer to TI8 awarding more points, they will award the same points throughout the season. The only exception is the last Major of the season slated for June 4 to June 10. Although that particular tournament does have a bigger prize pool, set at $1.5 million.

This is a huge change, but probably one for the better. Because of it, teams are now more likely to stick together for an entire season than ever before.

Coaches and Roster Locks

Thanks arguably to the success of the likes of TNC Pro Team, Team Liquidand OG, all of which had a good coach on their team, more and more organisations these days are seeing the value of having a sixth man of sorts on their team.

Valve also seems to have realised just how much coaches help improve the quality of play as they are now allowing coaches to take part for the entire duration of the entire pre-game draft phase.

With this, the quality of play should be higher and games likely to be more competitive.

Dota Pro Circuit

OG has never been shy of crediting Sébastien ‘7ckngMad’ Debs for much of their success, which includes 4 Major titles in 2 years. (Image via Valve)

Organisations and players can now also rest easy knowing that there’ll be a roster lock this season.

As of the moment, Phase 1 is underway. Managers are now free to re-register previous teams, while their players can either drop out or be accepted back. This will end at 5:00 PM PDT on September 22.

Afterwards, Phase 2 will start, where teams can register new teams while players are free to move to other teams as they please. This will end at 5:00 PM PDT on October 3.

Once Phase 2 ends, all rosters will be locked up until the next registration period sometime early in 2018.

Are you excited for the Dota Pro Circuit? Which teams do you think will reign supreme throughout the season? Be sure to let us know your thoughts in the comments down below. 

Don’t forget to follow us on Twitter and Facebook for the latest on your favourite Esports titles.