FIFA and EA SPORTS announce first-ever EA SPORTS FIFA Global Series and FIFA eWorld Cup 2018

The much awaited news regarding the competitive FIFA 18 season has just been released. Many of the game’s pro players who have been eagerly waiting for news on just how the official 2018 competitive season would be shaping up are going to have to note the major changes. All the info we have on the EA SPORTS FIFA Global Series and FIFA eWorld Cup 2018 from the press release below.

EA SPORTS FIFA Global Series

The FIFA Global Series is this year’s method of qualification for the FIFA eWorld Cup 2018. In the announcement, it is stated:

“Competitors can qualify based on their FIFA Ultimate Team (FUT) Champions Weekend League online performance and at blockbuster live qualifying events from November 2017 until July 2018. Through the EA SPORTS FIFA 18 Global Series, EA and FIFA will identify the top 128 competitors (64 players representing PlayStation®4 and 64 players representing Xbox One) to continue to the EA SPORTS FIFA 18 Global Series Playoffs. The playoffs will lead to the final stop on the Global Series Tour – the FIFA eWorld Cup Grand Final 18.”

FIFA Global Series FIFA eworld cup 2018 qualification

Competitive formats in EA SPORTS FIFA 18 include:

• FIFA Ultimate Team Champions Cups: these mass-entry tournaments kick off first through the popular FUT Champions mode. The top competitors will qualify for two major live tournaments – to be held in January and April 2018.

• FIFA eClub World Cup: piloted in 2017, the club tournament is back for the FIFA 18 Global Series.

• Official League Qualifying Competitions: established professional leagues with a vision of the future will be the first to host FIFA tournaments that will feed into qualification for the FIFA eWorld Cup.

• Licensed Qualifying Competitions: organisations passionate about EA SPORTS FIFA will activate on-site qualifiers

The first weekend of qualifying through FUT Champions begins in the first weekend of Novemeber. Get your teams and icons ready!

FIFA eWorld Cup 2018

Although not explicitly said, we assume that this is the new name for the FIFA Interactive World Cup, held by current champion Gorilla Unilad.

While the announcement of the 2018 competitive season will be welcomed by all, there still some vital information missing.

When and where are the offline events and tournaments taking place?

Is the FUT Champions qualification split by region again?

What is the prize money for the various events?

While the name change and fancy new graphics show that the FIFA Esport is moving in the right direction, the lack of information and transparency is still a major failure on the part of the organizers.