Warning: include_once(/home/esport05/public_html/wp-content/plugins/wp-hummingbird/helpers/wp-hummingbird-helpers-core.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/esport05/public_html/wp-content/advanced-cache.php on line 22

Warning: include_once(): Failed opening '/home/esport05/public_html/wp-content/plugins/wp-hummingbird/helpers/wp-hummingbird-helpers-core.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/local/php71/pear') in /home/esport05/public_html/wp-content/advanced-cache.php on line 22

Warning: include_once(/home/esport05/public_html/wp-content/plugins/wp-hummingbird/core/modules/class-module-page-caching.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/esport05/public_html/wp-content/advanced-cache.php on line 24

Warning: include_once(): Failed opening '/home/esport05/public_html/wp-content/plugins/wp-hummingbird/core/modules/class-module-page-caching.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/local/php71/pear') in /home/esport05/public_html/wp-content/advanced-cache.php on line 24
2018 LoL Worlds Championship Preview: Everything You Need to Know - Esportsranks
2018 LoL Worlds Championship Preview: Everything You Need to Know

The 2018 LoL Worlds Championship will be held in South Korea once again. This is the second time this happened in the tournament’s history, and the first since 2014. However, unlike the last time, more teams have been brought in for this year’s festivities.

For the 2018 LoL World Championship, 24 teams from across the different regions will participate in the month-long slugfest for a chance to claim the title of the best League of Legends team in the planet.

Here are all the different teams that will perform at the 2018 LoL Worlds Championship in South Korea.

2018 LoL Worlds Championship Contenders


— Team Liquid

— 100 Thieves

— Cloud9


— Fnatic

— Team Vitality

— G2 Esports


— KT Rolster

— Afreeca Freecs

— Gen.G


— Royal Never Give Up

— Invictus Gaming

— EDward Gaming


— Flash Wolves

— MAD Team

— G-Rex


— Phong Vũ Buffalo


— KaBuM! e-Sports


— Gambit Esports


— Infinity eSports


— Kaos Latin Gamers


— SuperMassive eSports


— DetonatioN FocusMe


— Dire Wolves

SEA Tour

— Ascension Gaming

The Tournament Format

The 2018 LoL Worlds Championship has three stages: a Play-In Stage, a Group Stage, and a Knockout or Bracket Stage.

The Play-In stage consists mostly of those from the emerging professional League of Legends regions— this includes the CBLOL, the LJL, the STC, the OPL, the TCL, the CLS, the LLN, the LCL. The third seeds of the NA and EU LCS, the LPL, and the LMS will also be in the Play-In stage. They get randomly drawn into groups of four where they’ll have a double round robin best of one, and the first place teams of each group will face second place teams of another group in a best of five. The victors of each best of five will advance to the group stages.

The Group Stages consist of four groups with four teams each, with the other three teams having been directly seeded into that stage of the tournament. In this stage, each team plays a double round robin best of one once again, and the first and second place teams of each group advance to the knockout stages.

Eight teams go into the bracket stage, where there will be Quarterfinals, Semifinals and the Grand Final. Each match will be a best of five, and the teams that will be brawling it out in the Quarterfinals will be drawn after the group stage ends.

At the end of it all, the wining team receives a huge sum of money, in-game skins modeled after the team and its members, and their names forever etched into the annals of history as winners of the 2018 LoL Worlds Championship.

What Patch Will Worlds be Played in?

The official Worlds patch is 8.19. Some adjustments have been done to tankier champions, while some of their usual counters have been buffed. Some carry junglers have received buffs as well. We might see a lot of different picks in some roles in this year’s Worlds, but top lane stands out— the lack of adjustments to mainstays Urgot and Aatrox might just make either or both of them a first pick, or a must-ban. Varus also stands out as a prominent marksman here, as the recent patch hit Kai’sa pretty hard.

Which teams should I look out for?

You might want to check out our preliminary power rankings for a more detailed breakdown about how teams rank ahead of the big event. However, there are two teams that most people should keep an eye on: the defending World Champions, Gen G, formerly Samsung Galaxy, and Royal Never Give Up, who are looking to have their Golden Year — they have won every tournamentt hey have played in so far this season and are looking to make history as the first team to ever go for a sweep.

Are you ready for the 2018 LoL Worlds Championship?  Who do you think will win it all? Let us know in the comments section below!

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook for the latest updates on League of Legends!